About
Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen
The World's Third Red Dot Design Museum

Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen officially opened in November 2018, becoming another world-class design and culture landmark in China. Following the venues in Essen, Germany, and Singapore, it is the world’s third Red Dot Design Museum. It is also the only Red Dot Design Museum that brings together award-winning designs from three competitions categories of Red Dot Award, namely, Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Design Concept, and Red Dot Award: Brands & Communication Design.

Red Dot Design Award, founded in Germany in 1954, looks back at a tradition spanning more than 60 years. Every year, Red Dot receives more than 17,000 submissions from 70 countries. It is one of the most influential design awards in the world. In 1955, the exhibition “Ständige Schau formschöner Industrieerzeugnisse” opened in Essen, which was the initial form of Red Dot Design Museum. The world's first Red Dot Design Museum was located in the Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex in Essen, Germany. The exhibition space was designed and remodeled by the Pritzker Architecture Prize winner Lord Norman Forster (a well-renowned architectural designer known for Apple's headquarters building) on the basis of the abandoned boiler house. In 2005, the second Red Dot Design Museum was established in Singapore. In 2017, the Singapore Red Dot Design Museum moved to its present location along the Marina Bay after a 12-year period since it was first established in 2005 along Maxwell Road. It is also the physical embodiment of Red Dot Awards.

Red Dot Design Award >


The World's Largest Airport Museum


Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen was rebuilt from the original Terminal 2 of Xiamen Gaoqi Airport, covering an area of 10,000m². It is the largest airport museum.

In 1982, to meet Xiamen Special Economic Zone's need, Gaoqi International Airport began its construction. Since then, Xiamen transformed from "an isolated island" to “a transportation hub” for the nearby cities. Terminal 2 was put to use in October, 1993. In 2017, it was used as the reception terminal for the BRICS Summit in Xiamen. In 2018, Terminal 2 was rebuilt to Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen, operated by Xiamen Culture Media Group, and the museum's special background will become the hub for international and Chinese design: to bring in international design culture and industrial resources, and to bring out Chinese designs and brands to the world.

Spatial Design


The architectural design of the museum is based on the flightpath concept. Each visitor entering the museum is like a flying aircraft. The moving paths of visitors inside the museum thus form countless flightpaths.

Museum Sections
The First Red Dot Design Museum that Brings Together Award-winning Designs from Three Competitions Categories of Red Dot Design Award

The exhibition area covers a two-floor space with a total of 4,500m². By uniting 70 countries’ award-winning designs from Red Dot Award: Product Design, Red Dot Award: Brands & Communication Design and Red Dot Award: Design Concept, the exhibition showcases top-level design and leading designers and design teams’ creative thinking from various fields, and leads designers and companies to explore the latest industrial design trends.

Except the three regular exhibitions, each year, Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen presents the latest Red Dot award-winning designs in three special exhibitions, highlighting trends from design, material and market in product design, communication design and design concept. Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen aims to present top-level design and leading designers and design teams’ creative thinking through more than 10 high-quality international design exhibitions annually. Furthermore, it will also collaborate with top design brands to showcase leading designs from various fields in a multi-facet way including new filed, cross-boundary cooperation, classic design, new market, social design, etc.

Exhibition >

First Red Dot Design Library and SPACE


SPACE is located on the second floor of the museum. Based on the concept of “the second studio for the creators”, it turns 1,000m² of space into a comfortable and creative space. Inside SPACE, the world’s first Red Dot Design Library brings together a wide collection of design books and visitors can search Red Dot award-winning entries from the query system.

There are over 300 award-winning designs with over 100 styles in 18 function sections. Creative workers, designers and tourists can intuitively enjoy those design and feel the changes brought by design to their lives. Red Dot Design Award receives more than 17,000 pieces of works from 70 countries around the world annually. Red Dot Institute breaks them down to 4 categories: Doing, Working, Living, Enjoying, which is the basic concept of Space’s planning, layout and design. It not only systematically presents Red Dot award-winning products, but also gives visitors the chance to experience and use them, and to feel their quality of function, seduction, use and responsibility.

SPACE >


Design School


Red Dot Design Award has top global partners including thousands of brands, innovation institutes and design schools, and hundreds of international authoritative design professors and experts from the three awards. Relying on Red Dot Design Award’s design resources and forward-looking explorations on design trends, the Design School has an objective to create a world-class top design platform to promote design thinking and industrial upgrading. Along with city governors, companies, schools and designers, it aims to build the most innovative and influential creative design community in China.

Design School >

Looking Forward

Objectives

Bring together world-leading design resources to empower creators in China
Integrate good design with good technology to drive the growth of world-class culture and science sector
Strive to become “Design Capital” to better attract internationally-renowned companies
Introduce the latest award-winning creativity to cultivate top talents for creative design


Spirits

Inspire—Through exhibitions, workshops and SPACE, to promote innovation inspiration and design thinking among industries, companies and individuals.
Connect—Through workshops, SPACE and project cooperation, to provide industries, companies and individuals the opportunity of connection and mutual benefit.
Involve—Through workshops and project cooperation, to facilitate upgrading for industries, companies and individuals.
Support—Through workshops and project cooperation, to solve urban and social issues using the power of design.



As the world's third Red Dot Design Museum, Red Dot Design Museum Xiamen aims to present top-level design and leading designers and design teams’ creative thinking from various fields in a multi-facet way through high-quality international design exhibitions, forward-looking discussion and exploration on the design trends, and public education projects. It provides professional support and a cooperation platform for design practitioners and expands the connotation of design. By blending good design into the society, it enhances public awareness and participation in design, and promotes urban and industrial upgrading, which eventually leads to the establishment of the “design capital” as the city’s brand and advance the vision of developing world-class culture and technology industry.

Press

“Exhibition of Winners Red Dot Award: Design Concept” Opening Ceremony Reveals the Vision of Tomorrow from Xiamen
Red Dot Jury selects best brands and creative works of the year

关于
红点设计博物馆·厦门
全球第三座红点设计博物馆

红点设计博物馆·厦门于 2018 年 11 月落成,成为中国又一座世界级的设计文化地标。这是继红点设计博物馆·埃森和红点设计博物馆·新加坡后,世界上第三座红点设计博物馆,也是目前唯一一座完整汇集红点设计大奖三大奖项作品的红点设计博物馆。

于 1954 年在德国创办的红点设计大奖,至今已有超过 60 年的历史,每年收到来自全球 70 个国家、超过 17,000 件作品,是全球范围内极具影响力的设计奖项之一。第二年,“优雅工业产品常设展”在德国埃森举行,这也是红点设计博物馆的最初形态。世界上第一座红点设计博物馆建成于德国埃森的关税同盟煤矿工业区,由普利兹克建筑奖得主 Norman Forster(苹果公司总部大楼等知名建筑设计者)在废弃锅炉房基础上设计改造。2005 年,第二座红点设计博物馆落户新加坡,旧址为原新加坡交通警察总部,2017 年迁至新加坡滨海湾,它同时也是红点设计概念大奖举办地。

红点奖 >


全球规模最大的机场博物馆


红点设计博物馆·厦门由厦门高崎机场原 T2 航站楼改造而成,面积达 10,000㎡,应是全球面积最大的机场博物馆。

1982 年,为适应厦门特区经济建设的需要,高崎国际机场动工兴建,厦门从此由一座“孤岛”变为了联通四面八方的“枢纽”。其中,T2 航站楼于 1993 年 10 月竣工启用。2017 年,T2 作为厦门金砖国家峰会接待航站楼之一。2018 年,T2 由厦门文广传媒集团运营,改造成红点设计博物馆·厦门,有此特殊背景的博物馆也将成为衔接国际设计和中国设计的枢纽:向中国输入全球设计文化及产业资源,让中国设计、中国品牌走向世界舞台。

空间设计


博物馆的建筑设计以飞行轨迹为概念,每个参观民众进入馆内就如一架飞机飞行, 串联起人与人的动线, 形成无数的飞行轨迹。

分区板块
首座涵盖三个红点设计大奖奖项的
红点设计博物馆

博物馆由两层组成,共有超过 4,500㎡ 的净展览空间。其中常设展厅展出的获奖作品来自全球 70 个国家和地区,涵盖红点产品设计大奖、红点设计概念大奖、红点传达设计大奖三大奖项获奖作品,呈现出各个领域设计的顶尖水平和设计师及设计团队的创新思维,让设计师与企业了解国际当下的工业设计趋势。

除三大常设展持续补给设计养分外,红点设计博物馆·厦门特别策划在 1,500㎡ 的特展厅集中展示红点奖三大奖项每年最新获奖作品的年度特展,直击全球最新产品设计、传达设计、概念设计的设计趋势、材料趋势、市场趋势,呈现各个领域设计的顶尖水平和设计师及设计团队的创新思维。同时每年引进超过 10 个国际知名设计展,并与各优秀设计品牌携手,呈现品牌顶尖设计,带来诸如新领域、跨界合作、设计经典、新兴市场、社会设计等多层次多领域展览。

展览 >

首个红点设计图书馆与设计沙龙


设计沙龙 Space 位于博物馆二层,根据“创意者的第二工作空间”概念,把 1,000㎡的空间化为环境舒适的创意共享空间,服务于创意工作者与游客。相较当下的共享空间,设计沙龙更具专业性,设有全球首座红点设计图书馆,提供全球最新的设计图书、最完整的红点出版作品,以及红点历届得奖作品查询系统。

绝无仅有的是,在设计沙龙 18 个区域分布着超过 100 款、300 件获奖作品提供体验与使用,让使用者在工作与休闲中直观的享受设计带给生活的改变。每年红点产品设计大奖吸引来自 70 个国家,17,000 件参赛作品。红点研究机构 Red Dot Institute 将其划分为 4 个领域:Doing 制作,Working 工作,Living 生活,Enjoying 娱乐。红点设计沙龙以此进行策划,空间布局及设计,系统性地呈现红点获奖产品,并让人从这四种真实需求面向直接去使用体验,感受每件红点获奖作品的功能品质、魅力品质、使用品质与责任品质。

设计沙龙 >


设计学院


红点设计大奖拥有数千家品牌企业、创意机构、设计院校等国际顶级伙伴,以及三大奖项近百位邀请自全球设计领域极具权威的设计教授和专家评审。依托红点设计大奖如此的资源网络和对产业趋势的洞察,设计学院致力于打造国际化高端设计思维培育与产业升级辅导平台,协同城市管理者、企业、高校与设计师,共同组成中国最具创新力与影响力的创意社群。

设计学院 >

展望

建馆目标

集结全球顶级设计资源,助力中国创造
好设计联手好科技,助推世界级文化 + 科技产业
打造设计之都城市品牌,助益国际名企英才广进
导入全球最新获奖创意,助攻创意设计人才升级


建馆精神

启发——透过展览、工作营、沙龙,帮助产业、企业与个人启发创新与设计思维。
互联——透过工作营、沙龙、项目合作,帮助产业、企业与个人产生对接与共赢。
参与——透过参与工作营、项目合作,帮助产业、企业与人才的提升。
支持——透过工作营、项目合作,用设计解决城市与社会问题。



作为全球第三座红点设计博物馆,红点设计博物馆·厦门期望通过优质的国际级别设计展、前瞻性的设计趋势与探索讨论,以及公共教育项目,多层次呈现各领域设计的顶尖水平和设计师及设计团队的创新思维;为设计创作实践提供专业支持和合作平台;并拓展设计外延,让设计良性介入社会,提升大众对设计的认知和参与,推动城市与产业升级;最终打造成“设计之都”城市品牌,推进世界级文化与科技产业发展的愿景。

相关报道

红点设计博物馆不可错过的20个最佳展品大揭秘
厦门最热的10个展馆大集合!全面互惠,带你开启10种展览奇旅~